Central Park SummerStage 2008

Central Park SummerStage 2008

Daily Events in NYC, New York, USA

Home » Events calendar » Central Park SummerStage 2008 » info

Central Park SummerStage 2008

Top Annual New York City Events | Other New York Annual Events | Popular New York City Celebrations, Parades etc
New York City Calendar of Events (Monthly Events) | New York City Street Fairs

Central Park Summer Stage 2008 in New York

Other events in June 2008

Central Park SummerStage 2007

13 June 2008 – 17 August 2008

In keeping with SummerStage tradition, each new season includes a wide range of music, dance, film and spoken word, by well-known and emerging artists. One of the best-loved arts festivals in one of the most popular summer venues, Central Park SummerStage has built its reputation by showcasing the very best of both veteran and up-and-coming artists across a range of different performance arts

Events Schedule

Friday, June 13, 2008
7-10 PM
Mavis Staples
Stephanie McKay
Opening Night 2008!
Free

Saturday, June 14, 2008
4-8 PM
Vampire Weekend
Kid Sister
Free

Sunday, June 15, 2008
3-7 PM
Victor Manuelle and Special Guests
Free

Friday, June 20, 2008
8-10 PM
Comedy Central Park
Featuring: Stephen Lynch and Mike Birbiglia, hosted by Julian McCullough
The 2nd Annual evening of comedy and music presented in association with Comedy Central
. Free

Saturday, June 21, 2008
7:30-10 PM
Definitely Poetry
Featuring: Kokayi, Lemon, La Bruja, Will Power, JLove Calderon
A special evening of live music and poetry.
Free

Sunday, June 22, 2008
7-10 PM
Yael Naim
David Donatien
Piers Faccini
Free

Thursday, June 26, 2008
6-10 PM
Thievery Corporation (live) with Seu Jorge
with Special Guests Bebel Gilberto & Federico Aubele
A benefit concert for Central Park SummerStage presented by Live Nation.

Saturday, June 28, 2008
3-7 PM
Vieux Farka Toure
Fallou Dieng
Kaleta & ZoZo Afrobeat
Dj Sirak
Free

Sunday, June 29, 2008
3-7 PM
Mosh Ben Ari
Rupa and The April Fishes
Y-Love
DJ Diwon
Free

Saturday, July 05, 2008
3-7 PM
Rachid Taha
Dengue Fever
Apollo Heights
Free

Sunday, July 6, 2008
3-7 PM
Seun Kuti and Egypt 80
Afrika Bambaataa
Love Trio with U-Roy
Free

Wednesday, July 9, 2008
7-10 PM
Music & Film
La Lupe Queen of Latin Soul, directed by Ela Troyano
Bragging Rights: Stickball Stories, directed by Sonia N. Gonzalez
Cucu Diamentes
Free

Thursday, July 10, 2008
7-10 PM
Music & Film
The Harder they Come, directed by Perry Henzell
I-Wayne
Free

Friday, July 11, 2008
8-10 PM
Rennie Harris / Pure Movement
Francesca Harper Project
Free

Saturday, July 12, 2008
3-7 PM
Julieta Venegas
Plastilina Mosh
DJ Bitman
Free

Sunday, July 13, 2008
3-7 PM
Global Family Day!
Big Nazo
Baby Loves Salsa, featuring Jose Conde
Cinderella Samba
Free

Thursday, July 17, 2008
7-10 PM
Junot Diaz
Free

Friday, July 18, 2008
7-10 PM
Video Music Box 25th Anniversary Concert
Free

Saturday, July 19, 2008
3-7 PM
Gospel Day
Donald Lawrence
Hezekiah Walker
Dave Holister
Free

Sunday, July 20, 2008
3-7 PM
Santogold
Diplo
Plastic Little
A-Trak
Kid Cudi
Free

Wednesday, July 23, 2008
7-10 PM
Mark Knopfler
A benefit concert for Central Park SummerStage produced by Live Nation.

Saturday, July 26, 2008
8-10 PM
Kibbutz Contemporary Dance Company
PeepDance
Free

Sunday, July 27, 2008
3-7 PM
Taj Majal
Skatalites
Los Pinguos
A special concert in association with Putumayo World Music in celebration of their 15th Anniversary.
Free

Tuesday, July 29, 2008
7-10 PM
Crosby, Stills & Nash
A benefit concert for Central Park SummerStage produced by Live Nation.

Thursday, July 31, 2008
7-10 PM
Richard Price
Charles Bock
Free

Friday, August 1, 2008
8-10 PM
DanceBrazil
Max Pollak and RumbaTap
Free

Saturday, August 2, 2008
7-10 PM
Roy Hargrove Big Band
and Special Guests
Free

Sunday, August 3, 2008
3-7 PM
Janelle Monae
Little Jackie
Jose James
Gilles Peterson
Presented in association with Giant Step.
Free

Wednesday, August 6, 2008
8-10 PM
Sonny Rollins
A benefit concert for Central Park SummerStage
produced by Bowery Presents.

Friday, August 8, 2008
8-10 PM
Jennifer Muller / The Works
Erica Essner Performance Co-Op
Free

Saturday, August 9, 2008
3-7 PM
Mexican Heritage Day
Kinky
Alejandro Escovedo with Strings
Pistolera
Free

Sunday, August 10, 2008
7-10 PM
CineFest Brasil
The House of Tom – Mundo, Monde, Mondo, directed by Ana Jobin
Maria Rita
Free

Thursday, August 14, 2008
7-10 PM
Los Lonely Boys
Los Lobos
Free

Friday, August 15, 2008
7-10 PM
Bajofondo
Osunlade & The Yoruba Soul Orchestra
Free

Saturday, August 16, 2008
3-7 PM
Battles
Black Dice
Free

Sunday, August 17, 2008
3-7 PM Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings Menahan Street Band Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens Free

Directions

Summerstage is located right off the 5th Avenue and 69th Street entrance to Central Park in New York City.

By Subway
The closest subway stop is the “B” and “C” train stop at 72nd & Central Park West. You may also take the #1,2 or 3 train to 72nd & Broadway, or the #6 train to 68th & Lexington Ave.

By Bus
From the Eastside: Take M-1, M-2, M-3 or M-4 to 72nd St./5th Ave. From the westside: Take M-7, M-10, M-11 to 72nd St/CPW

Contact

Tel +1 (212) 360 2756
Email info@summerstage.org
Website: www.summerstage.org external link

CitySights NY Go Card USA - Top USA Attractions for 1 Low Price!
Find Great Deals at BedandBreakfast.com!

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

11 + five =

";